Cracking Osmosis | paulweeks2014

I can clearly remember the lesson from my own time at school. The teacher divided the blackboard (yes, I’m that old) in two with a dotted line, and we copied this, and the chalky molecules of water and sugar, and the arrows depicting the direction of water movement.

I also remember the faint feeling of bemusement. What was this all about? Mechanically copying an abstract drawing off the board enabled quality banter time with fellow class mates, but at no point did I have any concept of why this might be either interesting or important.

Since becoming a teacher myself, I’ve tried a dozen…

Continue reading at:
http://ift.tt/2foRA40

Leave a Reply

